Embedded formative assessment – Dylan William

Holidays is always a good time to catch up on some reading and make plans for putting any useful recent ideas into action for the following year. I find that very few of the ideas I come across actually get fully implemented. I don’t think this is a bad thing necessarily as when you read fairly widely it would be impossible to follow up every idea or approach that is presented. For me what is important is finding those things that have the potential to make a big difference to my students and giving them a go.

There is plenty of research to suggest that assessment for learning (formative assessment) approaches have the potential to have a big impact on student learning. I read ‘inside the black box‘ by Dylan William and Paul Black 7 or 8 years ago which is considered a key document by many, that helped sharpen the focus of many education systems on the value of formative assessment. I was pleased to come across one of his recently published books ‘ embedded formative assessment’ which I purchased during term 4. I managed to highlight some points that I thought were worth reading over a number of times and so I thought I would store them here for easy access!

Formative assessment is something that I am well aware of but believe there is plenty of scope to improve my implementation.

Google doc with selected quotes below (A little too long to dump all here).

https://docs.google.com/document/d/1dpFtLN7pMRns0NMOXiz6j-S5bs2XCkxULzKAueVb6e4/edit?hl=en_GB

Leave a Reply

